Feedback / Suggestions


In the early 20th century, under the British rule, Karnataka was the first state to produce, transmit and supply electricity to consumers. We have ample river water resources and Karnataka is the first to generate hydroelectricity. Soon after Independence, the government power department came into being. It was later converted to the Mysore State Electricity Board, which operated the power transmission and distribution works. HECP to look into hydroelectricity projects. Between 1970-80 the Mysore State Electricity Board was renamed as Karnataka Electricity Board and the Hydro Power Corporation project was transformed into Karnataka Electricity Corporation.


In 1999, the Government of Karnataka enacted the Karnataka Electricity Improvement Act and restructured the Karnataka Electricity Board into a Karnataka Electricity Supply Corporation Limited and Vishweshwaraiah Corporation.


The Karnataka Electricity Regulatory Commission was set up to carry out activities such as development of the electricity sector, promoting competition within it, protecting the interests of consumers and the revision of electricity rates, transparency on subsidies, promotion of efficient and liberal environmental policies.


Karnataka is one of the few states that has implemented the above mentioned reforms in the electricity sector. The above measures have been taken to improve the fiscal situation of the State Electricity Board, to overcome the shortage and to provide reliable and quality electricity to the consumers.




In mid 2002, Karnataka Electricity Corporation Limited was re-split to Karnataka Electricity Corporation Limited and 4 Electricity Supply Companies were formed. Karnataka Electricity Supply Corporation Limited has been appointed for the purpose of power supply and 4 power companies - Bangalore Electricity Supply Company (BESCOM), Hubli Electricity Supply Company (HESCOM), Mangalore Electricity Supply Company (MESCOM) and Gulbarga Electricity Supply Company (GESCOM). These are independent supply companies and have started their business from 01.06.2002. HESCOM came into existence in Seven districts including Dharwad, Haveri, Uttarakannada, Belagavi, Gadag, Vijayapur and Bagalkot. HESCOM comprises of two O & M Zones one each at Hubballi and Belagavi headed by Chief Engineer (Ele), Seven number of O & M Circles one each at Hubballi, Haveri, Sirsi, Belagavi, Chikkodi, Bagalkot and Vijayapur headed by Superintending Engineer (Ele.), 26 Nos of - O & M Divisions and 83 Nos of - O & M Sub-Divisions and 334 Nos of O&M Sections.


ESCOMS were created as separate independent entities, with special responsibilities for reform and restructuring of programs. This is a net contributor to the state's economy. All the above companies are fully independent government companies operating under the company specification. State Government and Regulatory Authority the Licenses and Orders issued by the Commission are in operation.






Last Updated: 04-07-2020 04:02 PM Updated By: Admin

Disclaimer :

Please note that this page also provides links to the websites / web pages of Govt. Ministries/Departments/Organisations.The content of these websites are owned by the respective organisations and they may be contacted for any further information or suggestion

Website Policies

  • Copyright Policy
  • Hyperlinking Policy
  • Security Policy
  • Terms & Conditions
  • Privacy Policy
  • Help
  • Screen Reader Access
  • Guidelines


  • Last Updated​ :
  • Visitors Counter :
  • Version :
Designed, Developed and Hosted by: Center for e-Governance - Web Portal, Government of Karnataka © 2024, All Rights Reserved.

Best viewed in Chrome v-87.0.4280.141, Microsoft Edge v-87.0.664.75, Firefox -v-83.0 Browsers. Resolution : 1280x800 to 1920x1080