Feedback / Suggestions

About Us


(CIN : U31401KA2002SGC030437)

Electricity is a vital resource for development. An efficient, reliable and well organized  power sector capable of delivering quality power along with quality service is a necessity for any progressive community. Earlier, the power sector in the state of Karnataka was serviced by Karnataka Electricity Board. In the year 1999, the state government initiated the reforms process of the power sector to meet the needs of the burgeoning economy. As a first step, in 1999, the Karnataka Electricity Board was bifurcated into two companies, Karnataka Power Transmission Corporation Limited (KPTCL) and Vishweswaraiah Vidyut Nigama Limited (VVNL). The Karnataka Electricity Regulatory Commission (KERC) was also setup in 1999. In the subsequent stage of reforms, the transmission and distribution activities carried out by KPTCL were unbundled and four power distribution companies were formed in June, 2002. HESCOM is one of the companies thus formed, with its headquarters at Hubballi.




 HESCOM is vested with the responsibility of distribution of power to the following Seven districts of Karnataka:

  • Dharwad 

  • Haveri

  • Uttara Kannada

  • Gadag

  • Belagavi

  • Bagalkot

  • Vijayapur


Area and Administration: 

HESCOM has operations in 7 Nos of districts, 49 Talukas with 54513 Sq.Km of Area having population of 01.48 Crs. HESCOM comprises of two O & M Zones one each at Hubballi and Belagavi headed by Chief Engineer (Ele), Seven number of O & M Circles each at Hubballi, Haveri, Sirsi, Belagavi, Chikkodi, Bagalkot and Vijayapur headed by Superintending Engineer (Ele.), 26 Nos of - O & M Divisions and 83 Nos of - O & M Sub-Divisions and 334 Nos of O&M Sections.


Power Distribution Assets:

HESCOM 33 KV Stations

181 Nos

11KV Feeders

4079 Nos

Distribution Transformers

262440 Nos

Length of HT lines

97284.22 ckt Kms

Length of LT Lines

146660.52 ckt Kms


HESCOM Employees Details: 

Sanctioned Strength

Working Strength


% Vacancy




41.18 %





Last Updated: 04-12-2023 04:00 PM Updated By: Admin

Disclaimer :

Please note that this page also provides links to the websites / web pages of Govt. Ministries/Departments/Organisations.The content of these websites are owned by the respective organisations and they may be contacted for any further information or suggestion

Website Policies

  • Copyright Policy
  • Hyperlinking Policy
  • Security Policy
  • Terms & Conditions
  • Privacy Policy
  • Help
  • Screen Reader Access
  • Guidelines


  • Last Updated​ :
  • Visitors Counter :
  • Version :
Designed, Developed and Hosted by: Center for e-Governance - Web Portal, Government of Karnataka © 2024, All Rights Reserved.

Best viewed in Chrome v-87.0.4280.141, Microsoft Edge v-87.0.664.75, Firefox -v-83.0 Browsers. Resolution : 1280x800 to 1920x1080